Home » Headline » Osun Bye-Election: PDP factions unite behind Ademola Adeleke
Osun Bye-Election: PDP factions unite behind Ademola Adeleke

Osun Bye-Election: PDP factions unite behind Ademola Adeleke

In its bid to win the Osun Bye-elections, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) factions headed by Ahmed Makarfi and Ali Modu Sherif  have united to back Ademola Adeleke.

It was resolved when the two factions of the party buried the hatchet and agreed to work for the electoral victory of the party on the July 8 bye election for Osun West Senatorial District.

It was gathered that a peace meeting, attended by party leaders from the faction of Dr Bayo Faforiji and the state chairman, Hon Soji Adagunodo was held at Ile-Ife residence of the former deputy governor of Osun State, Senator Iyiola Omisore

The resolution of the crisis was said to have been the fallout of the emergence of Dr Ademola Adeleke as the candidate of the PDP for Osun West Senatorial District election last Wednesday in Iwo.

Credible sources informed our correspondent that the resolution of the crisis in Osun PDP was one of the major strategies of not only to win the coming bye election, but to also put up impressive performance in the 2018 governorship election in the state.

One of the party stalwarts, who was at the meeting told our correspondent that “It is true we have settled our differences. A meeting of all the stakeholders in the party was held on Saturday at the Ile-Ife residence of Senator Iyiola Omisore and take or leave, PDP is now one indivisible entity in Osun State”.

According to him, “What you have seen is just the tip of the iceberg, considering our thorough political strategies to win the July 8 bye election in Osun West and also win the governorship election slated to hold in Osun by next year. We are on the move and this is notice to the All Progressives Congress (APC) that their time is up in this state.”

Confirming the resolution of the crisis to our correspondent, the secretary of the PDP in Osun, Prince Bola Ajao said “The seeming dispute is over and we have united to fight our common political enemy and we are now back on the winning streak and the result of the July 8 would set the path to liberate Osun people.

Leaders of the PDP, who attended the peace meeting in Ile-Ife, include the host, Senator Iyiola Omisore, Soji Adagunodo, former Speaker of Osun State House of Assembly, Adejare Bello, Dr Ademola Adeleke, Reverend Bunmi Jenyo, Dr B. T Salam, Kazeem Adeleye, Dr Bayo Faforiji, Alhaji Tajudeen Oladipo, Barrister Ojo Williams, and  Mayowa Adejorin.

The list of attendees also include Sunday Bisi, Prince Bola Ajao, Femi Odofin, Gbemi Olufade, Funso Babarinde among others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: