Home » Headline » Ministerial List: Buhari meets Saraki, Dogara, Ekweremadu absent

Ministerial List: Buhari meets Saraki, Dogara, Ekweremadu absent

For the first time since they were sworn in President Muhammadu Buhari on Wednesday night held a formal meeting with the leadership of the National Assembly.
Principal officers of the two chambers were led into the meeting by Senate President Bukola Saraki and House of Representatives Speaker Yakubu Dogara. But for some inexplicable reason, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu was not present.
The legislators arrived at 8.45 pm for the meeting which commenced at 9.20pm at the Conference Room of the First Lady Wing of the Aso Rock Presidential Villa, Abuja.

President Buhari arrived for the meeting at 9.15pm in company of Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir David Lawal.

The lawmakers in attendance included Senate Leader Ali Ndume, Senate Deputy Leader Bala Ibn Na’Allah, Senate Minority Leader Godswill Akpabio, Senate Minority Whip Philip Aduda, House of Representatives Deputy Speaker Yusuf Lasun, House Leader Femi Gbajabiamila, among others.

A source hinted that the meeting was aimed at discussing how to foster a cordial relationship between the executive and the legislature. And it was not sure if the issue of the recently released Ministerial List was discussed at the closed door meeting. Neither the Presidency now the National Assembly Leadership commented on the outcome of the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: