Home » Politics » Ahead 2105: APC sweeps Yobe LG polls
Ahead 2105: APC sweeps Yobe LG polls

Ahead 2105: APC sweeps Yobe LG polls

The ruling party in Yobe State, All Progressives Congress (APC), has won all the 17 Chairmanship and Councillorship seats contested for in the Local Government elections held over the weekend.



Announcing the results in Damaturu, Chairman of the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC), Alhaji Mohammed Jauro, said APC secured 999,700 of the 1.2 million votes cast giving a 78.99 per cent voter turnout. Ten political parties contested for the elections across the state.

He said the party also won the entire councillorship seats contested for.
The chairman said the electoral body did not receive any complaints from any quarters on the conduct of the elections. And thanked the media, security agents, electoral officials, observers and Non-Governmental Organisations for their various roles towards the success of the exercise.

“The successful conduct of the polls is a proof that peace has returned to the state,” a report by the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) quoted Jauro as saying.
There had been fears that the poor security situation in the state, following insurgents’ activities, would affect the polls’ conduct.

However, the spokesman of the Military Joint Task Force in the state, Capt. Eli Lazarus, said the force had not received any report of security breach during the polls

The All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) which metamorphosed into the All Progressives Congress has continued to dominate Yobe politics since the return of democracy in 1999.

In the LG election in 1999, the party won all the available seats with the exception of one councillorship seat in Gulani Local Government, which was won by the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA).

The Yobe State Government has today, Monday, December 30, 2013 for the swearing in ceremony of the elected chairmen.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: